network for excellence in
    mathematics and statistics support

The sigma Network Steering Group

From August 2016, the sigma Network became a professional association, bound by a constitution. The day-to-day management of the sigma Network was vested in an elected Steering Group, reporting to an Annual General Meeting.

Steering Group members are directly involved in mathematics and statistics support in higher education, and have the support of their institutions to serve in this role. Collectively, the Steering Group shall:

  • ensure a range of professional development meetings is held each year for people involved in maths and statistics support;
  • encourage networking and sharing of good practice;
  • maintain and develop resources, website and mailing list;
  • support and encourage the work of Special Interest Groups within the sigma Network;
  • keep up to date with developments in the field of mathematics and statistics support, disseminate information and seek collaboration opportunities with other sector bodies to further the work of the sigma Network.

Steering Group Members 2016/17

  • David Bowers (Chair, sigma Network)
  • Emma Cliffe (University of Bath)
  • Ruth Fairclough (University of Wolverhampton)
  • Mark Hodds (Coventry University)
  • Eugenie Hunsicker (Loughborough University)
  • Tony Mann (University of Greenwich)
  • Ellen Marshall (University of Sheffield)
  • Mohamed Mehbali (London South Bank University)
  • Alun Owen (University of Worcester)
  • Chetna Patel (de Montfort University)
  • Cheryl Voake-Jones (University of Bath)
  • Rob Wilson (Cardiff University)
  • Noel-Ann Bradshaw (Representative of the IMA)